top of page
Search
  • kiarasalyers

Happy Pride Month!

The funny thing about my title is that most people would assume that I'm talking about the LGBTQ+ community when I'm not. Whenever I was younger I used to live in Michigan and I remember when I was about 9 years old, there was a bad storm that created a lot of flooding in the area. I remember passing quite a few flooded fields on the school bus on my way to school, and I remember looking up in the sky and seeing a beautiful rainbow. Immediately, I found comfort in God's promise. To this day I have always seen a rainbow as a symbol of God's promise to Noah so many years ago.

To make myself clear, I'm not trying to attack the LGBTQ+ community at all. I know and love a lot of amazing people that are a part of that community. What I don't understand is, why is it that our culture thinks that our identity is found in our Sexuality? Or what feels good to Us? Aren't we so much more than our sexuality? This world is constantly telling us to get into a relationship, to do what makes us feel good, to be what we want to be, and there's a big problem with all of those statements. None of them include Jesus. Whenever we find our identity in Christ rather than our own selfish desires, we won't need worldly desires to fulfill us. Instead of using pride month to celebrate sexuality or our own desires for that matter, let's fix our eyes on the one who truly deserves to be celebrated. Why not have Pride in God? Why not have pride that we can find our TRUE identity in the one who created us!

I don't know where you are on your spiritual journey, just know that you are loved. My main goal in life is to love people the way Jesus loved people. My different perspective of pride month doesn't mean I'm hating on the LGBTQ+ community at all, I know that many Christians are so quick to judge and condemn people for living differently than them and that's wrong. God has called us to love all people period. John 15:12 says, "My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you".

Let's celebrate this pride month with an attitude of thankfulness and love. It's easy to love somebody who is your friend, but what about somebody you don't agree with? Challenge yourself, and strive to love others as God has loved us.


- Ksalyers


26 views

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page